Why American Incarnations?

Because I am American. Because in America I can never be just American. Because I am not White, but I have been told by others, “I just think of you as White.”  Because when I am in India, I am American, but when I am in America, they ask me “Where are you from?” and they are not satisfied when I reply, “Delaware.”

Because I have never wanted to live anywhere else, but I have always thought it might be easier to live somewhere else. Because I am married to a  White, atheist, half Jew/ half Christian man. Because my children are part of us both and something else entirely.  Because I don’t know what neighbordhood any of us belong in.

Because I love America and need so very badly for America to change. Because I work hard to love Americans by helping Americans to change their communities, their organizations, their minds, and their hearts.

Because I know I am not alone in my aloneness. Because I am not unique, though there is only one of me.  Because blogging used to be cool, so I have to start doing it now that it’s not.

Welcome to American Incarnations.

11 Comments

  1. April 10, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    I look forward to reading more. 🙂

  2. Mallika said,

    April 10, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    Word. Your first post hits home for me, obvi.

    I’ll read yours if you read mine!

  3. John Keogh said,

    April 11, 2012 at 1:18 pm

    I’ve read scholars who have spent their entire lives studying the history and cultural evolution of America who can’t summarize what this country is nearly so well as this!

  4. Kate Greene said,

    April 12, 2012 at 10:17 pm

    Very powerful, Aarati. This line in particular struck a chord with me: Because I love America and need so very badly for America to change.

    • April 13, 2012 at 6:25 am

      Thanks Kate. In this case I see love as willingness to extend myself for another growth. I want America to grow in all the ways that I want people I love to grow. And I am willing to work to make that happen. I know you are too.

  5. April 14, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    This is a lovely blog, Mama Aarati. Thank you for sharing the link – I clicked and read until there wasn’t any more to read! I admire your honesty, insight and inspiration, and will continue to follow…

    • April 14, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      Thanks so much Mama Katherine. I am glad we have found a community at Shining Stars that I feel comfortable enough to share my daughter and myself with. In no small part due to your warm and open spirit.

  6. April 19, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    Thanks for sharing, Aarati! I look forward to following your posts


Leave a Reply

