Something About Eli

Eli

 

I want to write something about Eli

quintessential second of two

I want to write something about Eli

but he’d never demand that I do

 

I want to write something about Eli

if his sister would stop all this chatter

I want to write something about Eli

but I’m running around like a Hatter!

 

I want to write something about Eli

he’s deserving of some of my time

I want to write something about Eli

just one sentence, one story, one rhyme

 

I want to write something about Eli

how his smile’s full of mischief and mirth

I want to write something about Eli

maybe tell you the tale of his birth

 

I want to write something about Eli

how it’s so different having a boy

I want to write something about Eli

but I’m too busy tripping over his toys!

 

I want to write something about Eli

the two-year-old young Houdini

I’d like to write  something about Eli

but I’m hearing his, “Carry you me!”

 

I’d like to write something about Eli

but he wants me to run, jump, and play

So I guess that a poem about Eli

will be written on some other day.

 

Leave a Reply

